Squirrels

November 20, 2006 § 11 Comments

sweet

Still getting used to this brush/finer detail thing. I like it, but yeah. I need to acclimatise. I might be working in watercolours too, at some point. I’ve started experimenting with those. I told my parents about OCAD and my mom got all excited and bought me supplies as an early Christmas present. I think she’s just happy that someone is still seriously interested after all that childhood training, even though I still want to write for a living.

I’m making the switch because I need creativity. English and Philosophy and Archaeology and whatever are fine. But that’s it. A lot of people seem to be enrolled just because they have to be. Not many people are excited. And I’d rather discuss than be talked to, especially when all anyone ever seems to want to talk about are old ideas. Don’t get me wrong. I have a lot of respect for them. But there’s something about academic English which is so self-canibalising. There’s so much criticism, nothing fresh and real.

I just want to be in something that seems to have people who really care about what they are learning. And I want to care about it too, honestly. There’s a math class in a room before one of my classes and they usually end up holding us up a bit, arguing passionately with chalk on the board. That’s what I want, not math exactly, but even that would be better than a roomful of bored students afraid to challenge the professor’s ideas. Maybe not even afraid. Maybe they just don’t care. I don’t know. I should stop talking about this.

Also I broke up with the Internet. I mean, we still see each other every now and then, but she doesn’t live in my house anymore. I like that. I have more time. I’m working on something large and its several times bigger than anything large I may have mentioned before. I feel like my computer is a tool again, and I remember what it used to feel like to write on, back in the day. It’s exciting. When I’m finished I might self-publish. I mean– I’ll edit it, and if it’s any good I’ll send it to a publisher, but I’ll self-publish in the meantime. John‘s book The Crystal Key got me thinking about the whole process. It’s just exciting to hold something weighty and substantial that was made with real hands.

§ 11 Responses to Squirrels

  • Sasha says:

    Nothing is ever passionate enough for you! That is, if it’s something that’s not foreign to you, because you just romanticize things you don’t know about.

  • only absolutely says:

    What the crap

    You crazy broad

    The truth is I’ve been here for three years and IT’S ONLY MARGINALLY INTERESTING AND NOT EXCITING INTELLECTUALLY and you can fucking suck it.

  • only absolutely says:

    p.s. I understand math arguments, just not the math they’re doing now, so you can like. Suck it twice.

    Seriously. I mean. What the hell? What the hell!

  • Sasha says:

    Don’t even pretend!!!!
    548075028745028745
    Go,d is tgere nothing even remotely fresh or real?! Nothing! I don’t believe you when you say it’s understimulating especially when I know how you form your arguments

  • AJS aka Andre Jack Sabyn says:

    YOU CRAZY BROAD?!! IMMATURE USE OF “SUCK IT”???!! WHO’S BEING INFLUENCED NOW MR.YOU-JUST-A-JEFF-K-RIP-OFF-HACK-WHO-I HOPE-DIES-IN-A-POOL-OF-HIS-OWN-EXCREMENT! ISN’T THAT WHAT YOU SAID?!! NO NEED TO CONFIRM IT, THOSE WORDS HAVE BEEN RINGING IN MY TORMENTED MIND FOR WEEKS NOW!!!! WHY DON’T YOU DIE, YA JERK!!!

  • only absolutely says:

    LOOK AJS IS THERE SOMETHING WRONG WITH BEING INFLUENCED BY SOMETHING?! YOU AIN’T NO RIP-OFF, MAN, BUT YOU ARE AWARE OF JEFF K AND I’M SURE HE HAS INFLUENCED YOU IN SOME WAYS. THAT’S ALL DUDE! I actually went back after I mentioned it and read through a lot of his archives and you guys are actually really different in a lot of ways. It’s just the capitals and some word choices, mostly.

    And Sasha there is very little discussion of anything except what’s already been said by other critics, and while there is freedom in say, what you want to write your essay about, there is little to no discussion at all. It’s painful, actually, to sit in a classroom and want to say so many things, knowing that you can’t really because there’s no real time to engage with opinions that your professor isn’t talking about.

    And a LOT of people don’t really care that much about English. Just by the fact that they all accept these sorts of lectures so blindly and from most of the conversations I’ve had — everyone content with the program is either going to be a teacher or would’ve picked life sciences if they had a better memory. People who want to engage and create things want out.

    I just felt it was so disrespectful for you to be saying things like that — especially when you don’t know how much effort I’ve put in to try and connect with my program, and this school. Honestly. This is the last thing I saw myself doing when I enrolled in this university, but it is exactly what I want. It took me 2.5 years of wondering what was wrong here to figure that out. So… suck it thrice.

    Plus I wouldn’t have been so pissed off if your comments weren’t all complete poison, always, I’m just sick of it. I realise mine were too and I tried to stop it, I don’t know, maybe you should try to.

  • only absolutely says:

    Also, AJS, I’m pretty sure you were the one who got me saying “broad”!

  • AJS aka AIN'T JEFFK STUPIDS!!! says:

    OH YEAH? WHY DON’T YOU FUCKIN ENGLISH NERDS REFUTE THIS:

    *FART*

    I’M A REGULAR FUCKIN J.K. ROWLING HUH LADIES?

  • Adeel says:

    Andre, in the future, don’t put important things underneath a comic.

    I’m happy for you. If you felt you weren’t doing all that you could by studying continental philosophy and major British writers, and odds are that you weren’t, it’s much more commendable to do something about it than to complain for the rest of your life.

    All the best. I think I should probably what it is that you’re studying.

  • AJS aka Arnie-Joe Sinclair says:

    SUCK MY ASS ADEEL

  • Sasha says:

    I love AJS.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Squirrels at paorta-kremvax conglomerate.

meta

