Book Census

February 17, 2009 § 4 Comments

Apparently something about “Family Day” screams “pointless tabulation of meaningless information”. In my estimation (I suppose I’m going to have to graph this some day) I spent something like six hours (this number seems unreal to me: if I broke it down into hard data maybe it’d be lower?) on the two following graphs and one to come in a later post.

booksgraphs2

Can I post these graphs without mentioning “Very Small Array“? Dorothy did it first, and better.

booksgraphs1

If I had more time I would have done a separate graph outlining how many of the Watterson books (Calvin & Hobbes) were purchased prior to turning 18 (all of them) and how many of those were purchased through Scholastic book orders (a good proportion). Still, that doesn’t really diminish their importance, even though I rarely read them. They hold up. And it’s not as if there are any Brian Jacques, Michael A. Stackpole, or Tom Clancy on the above list. Much of the fiction I read as a kid has (justifiably) crumbled and scattered with the passing of time.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Book Census

  • Ahmed says:

    My library features mostly the works of Watterson and Larson. There’s also Runaway Ralph, which I borrowed from my second grade class library.

  • paorta says:

    If I still lived at home there would be a lot more of this stuff, there’s just a lot I can’t really justify taking. I’ve got a few Wayside School books (one borrowed from my third grade class library) and… man, I don’t even know. There’s a lot. I probably have more old library books than anybody thanks to the “school shuffle” period detailed above. And I always liked the Far Side but I’ve just got one book.

    Runaway Ralph was one of those books everyone talked about but I never ended up reading. Like Judy Blume books. For some reason I tend to avoid that stuff? Not for any reason.

  • Sasha says:

    I’ve never heard of Runaway Ralph, and I’ve heard of the Judy Blume books but never read them. No lame points for me. Also, I really like these graphs you’re making. So stylish and professional looking! You should go into finance.

  • paorta says:

    Thanks– most of the credit goes to illustrator and Mac Excel, though. The latter product is a thousand times more stylish than its windows counterpart.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Book Census at paorta-kremvax conglomerate.

meta

